Welcome to Assam Medical College

Assam Medical College, Dibrugarh is one of the premier and oldest medical institutes of the NE region of India. British Philanthropist Sir John Berry White, a retired brigadier of British army and later the civil surgeon of the erstwhile Lakhimpur district in 1870, contributed his lifetime earning of Rupees Fifty Thousand (present day valuation is more than 50 million of rupees) to establish his brain child “Berry White Medical School” in 1900 AD. This school heralded the beginning of Allopathic Medical Education by conferring LMP Diploma in old undivided Assam. In 1938, the Assam Branch of Licentiate Medical Practitioner in its annual meeting under the chairmanship of Lokapriya Gopinath Bordoloi, the then premier of the Congress Govt. of Assam decided to upgrade the Berry White Medical School to a full fledged Medical College, Assam Medical College, Dibrugarh was established in 3rd November 1947, in the erstwhile US Military hospital of the second world war at Borbari, Dibrugarh through a process of up-gradation of Berry White Medical School immediately after independence, inaugurated formally by First chief Minister of Assam, Late Lokopriya Gopinath Bordoloi. The admission of the first batch of students was completed in September 1947 with 6 seats.

Principal's Message

I feel greatly privileged to be the Principal cum Chief Superintendent of Assam Medical College, Dibrugarh, the premier and glorious centre of medical education of North East India.

Dr. John Berry White (MRCS), a British surgeon of the East India Company and a retired Brigadier was the pioneer in starting the health education and health care in Assam. He served as a Civil Surgeon in the then undivided Lakhimpur district of Assam.

Dr. John Berry White donated his lifetime earnings of Rs 50000 for the establishment of Dr. John Berry White Medical School in 1901, the first medical school in North East India. In course of time this Medical School was upgraded to a fully fledged Medical College, the Assam Medical College and was formally inaugurated by the 1st Chief Minister of Assam, Late Lokopriya Gopinath Bordoloi on 3rd November 1947.

Dr. Hem Chandra Baruah was the first Principal of Assam Medical College. The outpatient department and many para-clinical and clinical departments continued to function till 1950 in the former Berry White Medical School at Graham Bazar. After the great earthquake of 1950, all the departments and outdoors were shifted to the present Assam Medical College Campus.

The twelve students of the first batch of the Assam Medical College graduated in 1952 and in the same year, the Indian Medical Council recognized the degree after inspection of the college and subsequently entered the name in the First Schedule.

Prof. G D Kapoor (Surgery), Prof. P N Taneja, Prof. N Gupta, Prof B H P Pai (Medicine), Prof. K S Ghrewal (Pharmacology), Prof. P C Nambiar (Surgery), Prof. R G Krishnan (Obstetrics & Gynecology), Prof. A E Sudersan and Prof. N C Dey (Pathology) are some of the medical giants who laid the foundation of Assam Medical College and Hospital.

This medical college takes pride in being the nation's first medical college to have a Radiology department with fully functional X-Ray machines imported from England in 1910.

Besides all these achievements the special bond that the students studying in Assam Medical College share with the members of the faculty should not go without mention. Our students have always been the pride of this esteemed institution and have carried its glory far and wide. I specially thank them for their love and sincerity and hope that this will continue for the years to come.

Long Live Assam Medical College, Dibugarh.

Prof. Hiranya Kumar Goswami